Pulitzer Prize Meaning, Pronunciation, Winners in 2023, Photography

The Pulitzer Prize is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to newspaper, magazine, and web journalism, literature, and music composition in the United States. In 1917, the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who had earned his wealth as a newspaper writer, created the Pulitzer Prize for Journalism, which administers Columbia University. Reuters photographers Adnan Abidi, Sana Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave, and the late Danish Siddiqui were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for ceremony images on Monday for the first time since 2002, for their protection from the coronavirus outbreak in India.

Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize is any of the annual awards awarded by Columbia University, New York City, for outstanding public service and achievement in American journalism, letters, and music. Fellowship is also awarded. The prizes, originally endowed with a $500,000 gift from newspaper magnate Joseph Pulitzer, are highly respected and have been awarded each May since 1917. Awards are given by Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board, who are appointed by judges. university. The number and category of awards have varied over the years but currently, there are 14 awards in journalism, 6 awards in letters, and 1 award in music.Pulitzer Prize

According to the committee, 4 photographers were awarded the prize for their photographs of the disaster, which “combine closeness with adversity, while providing viewers with an enhanced sense of place.” The photos were taken throughout the disaster, the panel said. Columbia University has announced the 2023 Pulitzer Prizes and photographers from the Los Angeles Times and Reuters took top honors in two photography categories. The Pulitzer Prize is awarded in several categories, two of which are devoted to photography: breaking news photography and feature photography.

Pulitzer Prize Wiki

Name of the Prize Pulitzer
Presented By Columbia University, New York City
Named on Joseph Pulitzer
Established in 1917
Awarded for Excellence in newspaper journalism, literary achievements, musical composition
Country United States
Presented by Columbia University
First awarded 1917
Website pulitzer.org

Pulitzer Prize Price 2023

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine, online journalism, literature, and musical composition within the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who made his fortune as a newspaper publisher and is administered by Columbia University. The awards are awarded annually in twenty-one categories. In twenty categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$15,000 cash prize (raised from $10,000 in 2017). A gold medal is awarded to the winner in the Public Service category.

ALso Check Indane Gas Cylinder Online Booking Link

Each year, the Pulitzer Prize Board selects 102 jurors to serve on 20 different juries for the 21 award categories. The Pulitzer Prize does not automatically consider all applicable works in media, but only those specifically recorded. (There is a $75 entry fee for each desired entry category.) Entries must fit into at least one of the specific award categories, and cannot gain entry just for being literary or musical. Works can be recorded in a maximum of two categories, regardless of their properties.

Pulitzer Prize History From 1917 – 2023

The newspaper’s publisher, Joseph Pulitzer, gave money to Columbia University to start a journalism school and establish the Pulitzer Prize in his will. It allocated $250,000 for awards and scholarships. He specified “four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one in education, and four traveling scholarships”. After his death on October 29, 1911, the first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded on June 4, 1917 (they are now announced in April). The Chicago Tribune, under the control of Colonel Robert R. McCormick, felt that the Pulitzer Prize was nothing more than a ‘mutual appreciation society and should not be taken seriously; The paper declined to compete for the prize until 1961, during McCormick’s tenure. Until 1975, the awards were overseen by trustees of Columbia University.

Also CHeck NDMC Payslip

After his death on October 29, 1911, the first Pulitzer Prize was awarded on June 4, 1917, to honor his contributions to literature. While Colonel Robert R. McCormick was in charge of the Chicago Tribune at the time, he believed that the Pulitzer Prize was nothing more than a mutual appreciation society and should not be taken seriously. As a result, the paper declined to compete for the prize during McCormick’s tenure, which ended in 1961. Since its inception in 1975, the awards have been administered by trustees of Columbia University.

ALso CHeck EPFO Password Reset

2023 Pulitzer Prize Winner & Finalist Category Wise List

Public Service The Washington Post
Breaking News Reporting The staff of the Miami Herald
Investigative Reporting Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington, and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times
Explanatory Reporting The staff of Quanta Magazine, New York, N.Y., notably Natalie Wolchover
Local Reporting Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune
National Reporting The staff of The New York Times
International Reporting The staff of The New York Times
Feature Writing Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic
Commentary Melinda Henneberger of The Kansas City Star
Criticism Salamishah Tillet, contributing critic at large, The New York Times
Editorial Writing Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle
Illustrated Reporting and Commentary Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams, and Walt Hickey of Insider, New York, N.Y.
Breaking News Photography Marcus Yam of the Los Angeles Times
Feature Photography Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave, and the late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters
Audio Reporting Staffs of Futuro Media, New York, N.Y. and PRX, Boston, Mass.
Fiction The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode in the History of a Very Famous Family, by Joshua Cohen (New York Review Books)
Drama Fat Ham, by James Ijames
History Covered with Night, by Nicole Eustace (Liveright/Norton)
Biography Chasing Me to My Grave: An Artist’s Memoir of the Jim Crow South, by the late Winfred Rembert as told to Erin I. Kelly (Bloomsbury)
frank: sonnets, by Diane Seuss (Graywolf Press)
General Nonfiction Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City, by Andrea Elliott (Random House)
Music Voiceless Mass, by Raven Chacon
Special Awards and Citations The Journalists of Ukraine

Official Website pulitzer.org

Leave a Comment